The Importance of Governance

Third Church utilizes a biblical and best practice approach to its governance responsibility. By providing and enforcing biblically based policies that guide ministry decisions, the Executive Board creates a safety net that makes certain ministry is offered in a God-honoring way.

About 4,500 people participate in the mission of Third Church. Each and every day, the Executive Board of Third Church takes its governance call seriously through prayer, care and leadership to those who call Third Church their church home. 

Excellence in Governance

In 2004, Third Church adopted a model of governance called Policy Governance. In this model, Executive Board members provide spiritual oversight, long-term vision and operational boundaries for the functioning of the whole church as an organization. While they focus on these items, they entrust the implementation of their direction into the hands of staff and other ministry leaders through the leadership of the Senior Pastor. The benefit of this model is that it allows the Executive Board to focus their time and energy to the biblical mandate to lead and shepherd the whole church, while allowing the aforementioned leaders the empowerment to lead ministries as God directs and make practical decisions on how to carry out the Executive Board’s mandates.

Executive Board

As a governing body, the Executive Board serves as ambassadors of Jesus Christ who rules over the universal church and as representatives of the congregation who have an interest in the ministry and mission of Third Church.


Six members of Third Church serve on the Executive Board at any given time. These six individuals are comprised of elders and deacons, men or women; however, at least one elder and one deacon serve on the board at all times. These six individuals are elected to three year terms from the consistory of all active elders and deacons; whereas, the consistory of elders and deacons is elected by the congregation. There are three ex-officio staff persons who serve as non-voting members of the Executive Board, the Senior Pastor, the Executive Director of Ministry and the Executive Director of Operations. The Senior Pastor, along with the help of the executive directors, provides a key link between the Executive Board and the day-to-day happenings of the church.


The responsibilities of the Executive Board have both routine and varied aspects. Throughout each month and at monthly meetings, the Executive Board tackles important issues for the church, including:

  • Overseeing the overall vision and future direction of the church;
  • Creating policies to clearly define church values and biblical operating procedures;
  • Ensuring the teachings and practices of the church reflect accurate biblical theology;
  • Praying for congregational pastoral care needs, conflict resolution and restoration;
  • Protecting the church by providing direction on financial and risk management issues;
  • and Supervising the Senior Pastor for accountability and to ensure the vision and values determined by the Executive Board are carried out.


2022-2023 Board Members

Steve TerLouw, Chief Governance Officer
Lyle Horman, Secretary

At-Large Members:

Joel Bennett
Mike Lind
Rich Schulte
Tim Van Maanen

Ex-Officio Staff Leaders:
Kevin Korver, Senior Pastor
Katie Peterson, Executive Director of Ministry
Darin Wogen, Executive Director of Operations

Please click to send an email to the Executive Board.


The primary way that elders and deacons serve is through spiritual leadership in Third Church ministries. Each year every elder and deacon is challenged to lead or serve in a ministry of their choosing or to take a course offered by Third Church. The intent is to release the elder or deacon into a specific ministry role suited for their calling, gifting and experience or for them to expand their spiritual horizons by taking a course.

Elders and deacons also fulfill other "traditional" biblical roles and special responsibilities for the church in both structured and unstructured ways, including congregational care, teaching, prayer, church discipline, mediation, theological discernment, communion, baptisms and the offering.


2022-2023 Consistory Members


Chandra Clark
Dale Deur
John Evenhouse
Sandy Hundt
Paul Jones
Buck Kraft
Steve Langrud
Mike Lind
Leon Louwsma
Jil Nelson
Kyle Nelson
Brett Newendorp
Monica Newendorp
Rich Pitkin
Eric Recker
Bev Roozeboom
Seth Schreur
Matt Schulte
Rich Schulte
Tim Van Maanen
Loren Van Wyk
Joan Van Zante
Rick Van Zante
Steve Van Zee
Christy Vande Haar
Dave Willemsen
John Wisse
Bev Wisse


Bill Boender
Bruce Coyle
Sue Coyle
Kim Dorn
Barb Finney
Nick Fynaardt
Mike Goodyk
Denise Gregory
John Holterhaus
Jenna Huitink
Dustin Kraft
Rusty Kramer
Mary Louwsma
Connie Marlow
Kelly Mitchell
Dameon Place
Dia Rozendaal
Trent Sikkema
Mick Snieder
Colin Van Kooten
David Van Soelen
Rhonda Van Soelen
Jean Van Wyk
Scott Vos